Black Rectangles…

I think I figured it out by accident, as usual.

When using a PDF conversion solution, I decided to convert to Form which means the OCR algorithm tries to identify the form and reconstruct it.

It generated layers similar to the one found by Hermitian but they are still active. I bet that importing them using paperport makes that functionality disappear, leaving ghosts.

I also venture to guess that I will find remnants of lines.

So far initial findings look interesting

Yes, it even uses a similar trick to hide the blocks and lines…

So much fun. So again, another myth bites the dust… Details to follow.

11 thoughts on “Black Rectangles…

  1. The fact that it made no sense for a forger to put invisible black rectangles on the pdf never seemed to faze him.

  2. “NBC

    Black Rectangles…

    “July 10, 2013

    “I think I figured it out by accident, as usual.

    “When using a PDF conversion solution, I decided to convert to Form which means the OCR algorithm tries to identify the form and reconstruct it.

    “It generated layers similar to the one found by Hermitian but they are still active. I bet that importing them using paperport makes that functionality disappear, leaving ghosts.

    “I also venture to guess that I will find remnants of lines.

    “So far initial findings look interesting

    “Yes, it even uses a similar trick to hide the blocks and lines…

    “So much fun. So again, another myth bites the dust… Details to follow.”

    I predict another total bust !!!

    NBC apparently doesn’t know that ABBYY FineReader 11 Pro already does an outstanding job on OCR scans of PDF pages containing printed forms consisting of lots of boxes all over the page which are filled with text. And then we don’t know that ABBYY Fine Reader ScanSnap was not used to OCR the scan of the printout of page 2 of document 15-1.pdf.

    I particularly like NBC’s choice of phrases:

    “it generated layers similar to the one found by Hermitian but they are still active”

    ” I bet that importing them using paperport makes that functionality disappear, leaving ghosts”

    “I also venture to guess that I will find remnants of lines”

    “it even uses a similar trick to hide the blocks and lines”.

    Ah! What we have here is the essence of the scientific method!

  3. NBC apparently doesn’t know that ABBYY FineReader 11 Pro already does an outstanding job on OCR scans of PDF pages containing printed forms consisting of lots of boxes all over the page which are filled with text. And then we don’t know that ABBYY Fine Reader ScanSnap was not used to OCR the scan of the printout of page 2 of document 15-1.pdf.

    Which is irrelevant since there is no indication that ABBYY FineReader was used for OCR scans. We do know, however, that Adobe Acrobat 9.51 Photo Capture Plug-in was used to do OCR. Further, we know from my experiment earlier today that if Photo Capture is used to OCR a document that has already been OCRed, it does not replace the previously found text, but merely adds to it. So if FineReader was used to do OCR scans and Photo Capture (which, again, we know for a fact was used) was used afterwards, the recognized text should be all of the text recognized by FineReader PLUS all the additional text recognized by Photo Capture, unless they deliberately deleted hidden text.

    Let’s use an analogy. I have two tools, a hammer and a nailgun. Both are used to do the same thing – put nails into boards. I also have some furniture that I made myself, and part of the construction involved using nails. Now, the nailgun is certainly easier and more efficient, but that doesn’t mean that you can’t ever use a hammer. Now, if you examine the furniture, you’ll see that in a number of places where there are nails, you’ll notice that there are round dents, roughly the size of a quarter. You’ll also notice that one of the nails is bent over and pounded into the wood sideways (and there are several of the circular dents overlapping where the nail is). And just then, my mom comes over and shows you a picture of me building the furniture, hammer in hand.

    Which tool do you think I used to build the furniture?

  4. The fact that it made no sense for a forger to put invisible black rectangles on the pdf never seemed to faze him.

    Right…

  5. Ah! What we have here is the essence of the scientific method!

    I guess you never heard about a hypothesis… I am not surprised as your ability to do research and properly analyze its results appear to be suffering little.

    And yes, I am very aware of the capabilities of ABBYY software and other software. I am surprised that it had to be me though who had to figure it all out, how these black rectangles were created by the software.

  6. I think your furniture is a conspiracy, and you obviously faked the photos.

    Seriously, I understand the infinite capacity human beings have for self delusion. I understand how powerful the desire for something to be true is. But still…

    Is anyone else out there vaguely amazed that there are people out there still carrying the torch so ferociously for such an obviously discredited conspiracy theory? One that not only has been disproven at the detail level, but that fails even the most elementary of common sense filters. If I had ever been so foolish as to espouse birtherism, at this point I would have slunk back to my corner never to be heard from again on that topic. To keep pushing it at this point simply brands you as a racist, a fool, or mentally disturbed. Or some combination thereof.

    The only comforting thought left is that at least the majority of the population doesn’t even need the grace of God to avoid going down a path so self-evidently stupid.

  7. Sounds great to me, NBC. Let’s bring Obama’s White House document into a courtroom and see if you are right or not.

    ex animo
    davidfarrar

  8. Black rectangles (and hidden lines) explained by OCR search in Adobe Acrobat 9 – no need for converting to Forms. See explanation on the Blake Affidavit Part 3 thread.

  9. Sounds great to me, NBC. Let’s bring Obama’s White House document into a courtroom and see if you are right or not.

    is that not what you tried and it backfired🙂

    Poor David…

  10. The mindless courtroom comment again?

    Courts are not free document authentication services. How hard is that to understand? You have to present to the court a valid legal case to decide that is within its jurisdiction (neither of which birthers have ever done). The court will then hear testimony about that case, which could involve expert testimony on the the birth certificate or could not. But the court would decide the valid legal question presented to it, not issue some edict from on high about the birth certificate.

    Too many Birthers seem to believe that courts are like the fabled court of King Solomon, where anyone who happens to be pissed about something just shows up and gripes to the wise man, who then answers their specific complaint, no matter how pointless or stupid. That’s why what they think are clever rejoinders are simply idiotic.

Comments are closed.