Wayne Allyn Root – Obama and Columbia University

Few may have heard of Wayne Allyn Root, but he attended many of the same classes in Columbia as our President, and actually met him at several occasions while Obama was at Occidental College .(NBC: mixing Allyn up with John Drew). Wayne has been claiming that noone at Columbia really remembers President Obama.

Our good friends at the Fogbow have explored some of Wayne’s claims

What I find fascinating is how his claims have evolved over time

GLENN: Hang on just a second. You were actual — did you have any classes with Barack Obama?

ROOT: Well, I’m sure I did. I just never knew him. We were both political science majors at the same college, Columbia University, graduated in the class of ’83. So I guarantee you we were sitting in the same classes together but I did not know him. It’s probably a graduating class of 600 or 700. So it’s very possible to be in the same class and not know a person. I didn’t know everyone in the whole class.

which became

I am a graduate of Columbia University, Class of 1983. That’s the same class Barack Obama claims to have graduated from. We shared the same exact major- Political Science. We were both Pre Law. It was a small class- about 700 students. The Political Science department was even smaller and closer-knit (maybe 150 students). I thought I knew, or met at least once, (or certainly saw in classes) every fellow Poly Sci classmate in my four years at Columbia.

But not Obama. No one ever met him. Even worse, no one even remembers seeing that unique memorable face. Think about this for a minute. Our classmate is President of the United States. Shouldn’t someone remember him? Or at least claim to remember him?

Perhaps Wayne does not know that the following people have come forward including Jim Davidson who claims that he informed Wayne that he had met Obama at Columbia University.

#73 | Jim Davidson | May 17th, 2010 at 12:45 pm: “Well, now we have another problem. You see, I met Wayne Root in Topeka, Kansas (at the zoo) for the Kansas state Libertarian Party convention. And I informed him that I met Barack Obama at Columbia University when we were both students there in Spring 1983. So Wayne is lying when he asserts, “No one I know from Columbia University has ever met or heard of a classmate named Barack Obama or Barry Sotero.”

“He’s lying because he knows that I met Barack Obama and he’s lying because I told Wayne about it. Since May 2008 Wayne has also known that I was a student at Columbia University 1981-1985. …

And there are others who remember President Obama at Columbia as well:

Fellow Students:
Michael Ackerman
Phil Boerner, Roommate
Cathie M. Currie
Jim Davidson
Sohale Siddiqi, Roommate
Michael J. Wolf
Jonathan Zimmerman

Professors:
Michael L. Baron
Lennard Davis

And from Barack Obama: The Story by by David Maraniss,

Girlfriends
Genevieve Cook
Alexandra McNear

Fellow students
Jacques Augustin (international student)
Pern Beckman, Boerner’s cousin
Mark Bigelow (Grad Student)
E. Warwick Daw (Contemp Civ class)
Rob Hahn (Students Against Militarism)
Don Kent (Grad student)
Mir Mahboob Mahmoud (Columbia Law student)
Amelia Rugland (Barnard student)
Ron Sunshine (basketball and Spanish class)
Wayne P. Weddington III (Black Student Organization)

Obama also wrote this essay in the Columbia Sundial student paper, dated March 10, 1983. The rumors or shall we say myths, that President Obama did not attend Columbia have long since been laid to rest.